Site Registration | Find a Copy | Event Calendar | Site Map
The Voice of the Black Community
COVID image

CIAA postseason awards

Posted by: Editor-Bonitta Best on Monday, February 24, 2020 at 12:00:00 am

Shaw freshman guard Nigel Martin was named the CIAA Men’s Rookie of the Year. He led all freshmen in scoring with 14.4 points per game and was also in the top 10 in rebounds per game at 6.6. Teammate Greyson Kelley was named to the all-conference team. In the no surprise department, Livingstone senior guard was voted the men’s player of the year. Winston-Salem State coach Cleo Hill Jr. earned coach of the year in his second season with the Rams.

On the women’s side, Shaw center Dejoria Howard and St. Augustine’s Kaaliya Williams earned a spot on the all-conference team. Lincoln (Pa.) senior guard Kwanza Murray was voted the women’s player of the year after leading the league in scoring with 18.4 ppg and field goal percentage (44.8%).  Murray’s coach, Darrell Mosley earned women’s coach of the year after guiding the Lions to a second-place tie with Bowie State and a program-record 23 wins and a national ranking.

All-CIAA Women’s Basketball Team
Katisha Hyman, Fayetteville State
Kwanza Murray, Lincoln (PA)
Daisa Harris, Livingstone
DeAshia Young, Lincoln (PA)
Shameka McNeill, Virginia Union 
Kyaja Williams, Bowie State
Jasmine Carter, Virginia Union
Aminata Johnson, Fayetteville State
Devona Stell, Elizabeth City State
Dejoria Howard, Shaw
Kaaliya Williams, Saint Augustine’s
Lezarea Bowens, Johnson C. Smith

Women’s Basketball All-Rookie Team
Shenell Shaw-Davis, Fayetteville State
NyAsia Blango, Elizabeth City State
Janya Lilly, Lincoln (PA)
Jada Richardson, Livingstone
Aaliyah Bell, Johnson C. Smith
CIAA Women’s Player of the Year: Kwanza Murray, Lincoln (PA)
CIAA Women’s Defensive Player of the Year: Kyaja Williams, Bowie State
CIAA Women’s Rookie of the Year: NyAsia Blango, Elizabeth City State
CIAA Women’s Coach of the Year: Darrell Mosley, Lincoln (PA)

All-CIAA Men’s Basketball Team
Roger Ray, Livingstone
Terrell Leach, Virginia Union
Robert Colon, Winston-Salem State
Cayse Minor, Johnson C. Smith
Greyson Kelley, Shaw
Lydell Elmore, Livingstone
Jalen Seegars, Fayetteville State
Deaquan Williams, Lincoln (PA)
Saiquan Jamison, Bowie State
Joseph Allen, Elizabeth City State
Jordan Peebles, Virginia Union
Andrew Corum, Virginia State

Men’s Basketball All-Rookie Team
Nigel Martin, Shaw
Deonta Dunlap, Lincoln (PA)
Jahzeer Baker, Elizabeth City State
Charles Tart, Virginia Union
Chaz Gwen, Johnson C. Smith
CIAA Men’s Player of the Year: Roger Ray, Livingstone
CIAA Men’s Defensive Player of the Year: Deaquan Williams, Lincoln (PA)
CIAA Men’s Rookie of the Year: Nigel Martin, Shaw
CIAA Men’s Coach of the Year: Cleo Hill Jr., Winston-Salem State



Leave a Comment

Latest News

read all

NC breweries are joining the ‘Black is Beautiful’ beer collaboration

Thirty-nine breweries in North Carolina have joined the Black is Beautiful beer collaboration,

Winfrey picks Isabel Wilkerson’s ‘Caste’ for her book club

NEW YORK — If not for the coronavirus, Oprah Winfrey says, she would be out in the streets

Durham man named caregiver of the year

A few years ago, Fletcher Hester was a Red Cross volunteer driver, transporting people to and