Site Registration | Find a Copy | Event Calendar | Site Map
The Voice of the Black Community
COVID image

MEAC Postseason Awards

Posted by: Editor-Bonitta Best on Friday, March 6, 2020 at 12:00:00 am

In no surprise to most, North Carolina senior forward Jibri Blount was named the 2019-20 MEAC Player of the Year. Teammate C.J. Keyser was named to the all-conference third team. Blount is the third Eagle to win the top award since the program reclassified to Division I. The others are Jeremy Ingram in 2013-14 and Patrick Cole in 2016-17.

The Pittsburgh native was second in the conference in scoring (19.3 ppg), third in rebounding (9.4), first in steals (2.2) and third in field goal shooting (53.2%.) He also amassed 13 double-doubles. NCCU opens the tournament on Wednesday at 6 p.m. against the winner of Delaware State and Maryland Eastern Shore game.

Howard’s Wayne Bristol Jr. was voted rookie of the year. The freshman from Upper Marlboro, Maryland, averaged 11.6 points and 4 rebounds a game. Bethune-Cookman’s Cletrell Pope earned defensive player of the year for the second straight season, making him the first player since Norfolk State’s Kyle O’Quinn to earn the double honor. And rounding out the list is N.C. A&T interim head coach Willie Jones as the coach of the year. Jones led the Aggies to a 12-4 record and a second-place finish after losing to the Eagles Thursday night.

Men’s First Team

Jibri Blount, NCCU

Ronald Jackson, N.C. A&T

Cletrell Pope, B-CU

Kameron Langley, A&T

Jermaine Bishop, Norfolk State

All-Rookie Team

Joe French, B-CU

Fred Cleveland Jr., A&T

Da’Shawn Phillip, Maryland Eastern Shore

Tyrese Jenkins, NSU

Wayne Bristol Jr., Howard

On the women’s side, Norfolk State redshirt senior Chanette Hicks earned player of the year and defensive player of the year. She is the first player in MEAC women’s basketball history to earn both awards in a single season.  Hicks averaged 20.1 points and 4.8 steals per game.

Florida A&M’s Alaina Rice was named rookie of the year after posting 10.3 points and 2.4 assists per contest. Morgan State’s Ed Davis was voted coach of the year. The Bears are the No. 3 seed in the tournament after posting a 12-4 conference record. MSU was picked to finish seventh in the preseason. Davis led Bowie State to three consecutive tournament championships in the late 1990s.

Three Eagles were named to the all-conference teams: Paulina Afriyie made the first team after averaging almost a double-double of 14.6 points and 9.4 rebounds. Second-team pick Kieche White is the team’s top 3-point scorer, and freshman Anissa Rivera made the all-rookie team. Rivera averaged 13 points, 9.5 rebounds and 2.5 blocks. The Eagles and Aggies will meet for a third time on Thursday at noon.

Women’s First Team

Amaya Scott, B-CU

Chance Graham, Coppin State

Chelsea Mitchell, Morgan State

Chanette Hicks, NSU

Pauline Afriyie, NCCU

All-Rookie Team

Tatum Hayes, B-CU

Alexandria Hamilton, CSU

Alaina Rice, FAMU

Anissa Rivera, NCCU

Jayah Hicks, S.C. State



Leave a Comment

Upcoming Events

read all

The Big Pop-Up

Time: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. The North Carolina


Women Career Series

Time: 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Zeta Phi Beta

Latest News

read all

Time for Durham to increase police presence in violent communities

Last summer, Durham City Council member Mark Anthony Middleton received a letter from a

Senate passes bill to create black burial grounds network

The U.S. Senate unanimously passed legislation that would better protect historic African

Hargraves Community Center earns builder award

The Hargraves Community Center received the 2021 Bridge Builder Award on Jan. 17 during the 36th