Site Registration | Find a Copy | Event Calendar | Site Map
The Voice of the Black Community

CIAA football awards

Posted by: Editor-Bonitta Best on Saturday, November 10, 2018 at 12:00:00 am

Bowie State senior quarterback Amir Hall beat out Virginia Union running back Tabyus Taylor for the CIAA offensive player of the year. Hall and the Bulldogs will meet Fayetteville State in Saturday’s CIAA Championship Game in Salem, Virginia.

Shaw junior linebacker Devon Hunt, who was robbed of the award last season, was named the defensive player of the year. Shaw ended its season Thursday night in a 47-27 loss to Chowan, but finished the season at .500 for the first time since 2013.

FSU coach Richard Hayes was named coach of the year after leading the Broncos to consecutive title game appearances. FSU lost to Virginia State 42-19 last season. And Broncos kicker Brandon Smith was named special teams player of the year.

First Team All-CIAA

Tight end

Kevonta Moses, Shaw

Offensive linemen

Tyreek Bailey, Fayetteville State

Keanu Gonzales, Shaw

Donald Boone, Chowan

Shamdu Nalls, Virginia Union

Frank Ball, Virginia State

Wide receivers

Lansana Sesay, Bowie State

Torry Baker, Chowan


Hall, Bowie State

Running backs

Taylor, Virginia Union

Tyrell Freeman, Chowan

Kick returner

Brandon Smith, Fayetteville State


Jefferson Souza, Virginia Union

Defensive linemen

Solomon Bassett, Lincoln (PA)

Oluwaleke Ajenifuja, Bowie State

Jarell Bright, Winston-Salem State

Joshua Pryor, Bowie State


Devon Hunt, Shaw

Patrick Prosser, Virginia State

Joseph Harris, Saint Augustine's

Defensive backs

Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union

Elvin De La Rosa, Fayetteville State

George Parker, Chowan

Daryus Skinner, Winston-Salem State

Punt returner

Tyeous Sharpe, Fayetteville State


All-Rookie Team


Dominique Graves, Winston-Salem State

Jacob Young, Fayetteville State

John Darby, IV, Saint Augustine's

Malik Bellamy, Bowie State

Tyrese Bobbitt, Shaw

Andre Jackson, Virginia State

Antonio Wallace, Johnson C. Smith

Tayonte McKenzie, Lincoln (PA)

Anthony Berry, Saint Augustine's

David Keck, Chowan

Jemourri Lapierre, Virginia State


Joshua Pryor, Bowie State

Connor O’Brien, Chowan

Jamal Hampton, Chowan

Joseph Harris, Saint Augustine's

Kwabe Boateng, Virginia State

Dominick Bryant, Saint Augustine's

D’Rico Cook, Lincoln (PA)

Na’Shawn Reid-Carlos, Virginia State

Mark Shannon, Shaw

Tayonte McKenzie, Lincoln (PA)

Brandon Jackson, Saint Augustine's



Leave a Comment

Upcoming Events

read all

Clothes Closet

Clothes Closet: 8 to 11 a.m. His Table to Yours:

Latest News

read all

McDonald’s workers set to strike

DURHAM – Durham McDonald’s workers will strike Thursday, May 23 – the day of

First black official in ACC dies

APEX — Jim Burch was the first black man to officiate a basketball game in the Atlantic

Community runners squat for charity

DURHAM – Eight Triangle-area residents and an estimated 50 virtual participants squared